Are you over 50 and filing for disability in Missouri or Arkansas? Or are you thinking of applying for Social Security Disability after age 55 in Missouri or Arkansas? Applying for Social Security Disability after age 50 in Missouri Arkansas has its own special rules.
The Social Security Administration recognizes that folks over 50 may have a harder time adjusting to new work demands or technology. If you are 50 or older and can no longer do the work you have done in the past 15 years, then Social Security must take your age into account when considering whether or not you can do other work.
If you are 50 years of age or older and are limited to unskilled sedentary work, Social Security will presume that you cannot adapt or transition to other work. This can lead to vastly different results in a claim. A 49 year old limited to unskilled sedentary work may lose his disability case, but will win it at age 50.
At age 55, it gets a bit easier. A person who is limited to unskilled light work is presumed to be unable to adapt and learn new work.
It is very important to remember that you do not get the benefit of these rules until the 5th step of the disability evaluation process. Therefore it is very important to rule out your past relevant work at step 4. The best way to do that is to fully flesh out the physical and mental requirements of your past 15 years of work in your application.
If you are applying for Social Security Disability after age 50 in Missouri or Arkansas please call The Krebs Law Firm LLC BEFORE you apply .
If you would like more information about the Social Security disability application process or the appeals process, please request one of my FREE ebook reports.
(Don’t worry I won’t sell or give your email to anyone)
The Krebs Law Firm LLC offers a free case evaluation if you have questions about your Social Security disability claim. Many people may be worried that they do not have the money to pay for a Springfield Missouri disability lawyer, but we only handle Social Security cases on a contingent fee basis. In other words, there is no fee unless we are successful in getting you the benefits that you deserve. If you would like to speak to Jason Krebs and his staff simply call (417) 883-5886 for your free case evaluation or to discuss your appeal today! Do not delay as you only have 60 days to file your appeal or ask for a reconsideration if you live in Kansas, Arkansas or Oklahoma.