If you are injured on the job or at your workplace, the first thing you need to do as part of the Missouri Workers Compensation process, is notify your supervisor, manager, or someone in human resources. You should do this first verbally before seeking medical treatment to begin the process for your Missouri Workers Compensation case.
If no one at your employer sends you to a doctor, then you should make a claim in writing IMMEDIATELY and make sure you KEEP A COPY AT HOME. Not at your workplace or on your work computer.
Your notice should include how, where and when you were injured at work or were diagnosed with a work-related disease and what parts of your body were injured. As part of the worker compensation process, Missouri law requires you to notify your employer of all these things in writing within 30 days after the date of the accident, or in the case of a work-related disease within 30 days of the date you were diagnosed with the disease and told it was work-related.
Notifying your employer does not file your claim, but it does help start the ball rolling on your Missouri Workers Compensation case. Without this crucial step, you could ruin your claim before it even starts.
After notifying your employer of your work accident and injuries, ask them to notify their insurance of your work-related accident and injuries and to send you to a doctor for medical evaluation and treatment. If they still refuse you should call a Springfield Missouri Work comp lawyer immediately.
If you have recently been hurt on the job in the Springfield Missouri area or surrounding counties, or anywhere in Southwest Missouri, and you want to get worker compensation benefits, call Jason Krebs at The Krebs Law Firm now to learn more about your legal rights and the worker compensation process. The more time you wait, the harder it can be to get your worker compensation benefits.
Contact our office to start your claim today so you can get the Missouri workers compensation claim process started to get the Missouri Work Comp benefits you are entitled to under Missouri Workers Compensation laws. Doing nothing is not a good option for you and your family.