This is Missouri Work Comp attorney Jason Krebs, and in today’s video we thought we’d answer the question, “How long do I have to be employed to be eligible for Worker’s Compensation benefits?” In Missouri, if you’re injured on the first day, the first hour of work, you should still be covered by Missouri Worker’s Compensation coverage. It is not a situation where you have to have 30 days or 60 days or whatever before you’re covered. If you’re hurt the first day on the job, it doesn’t matter if you’ve been there one day or 10 years, so you should be covered.
What’s important is, you report that injury. You may be new to the job and you don’t want to get fired, or don’t want to get in trouble so you’re afraid to report your injury. And it’s very important in Missouri, you only have 30 days to report your injury. You should do it in writing, but go to your supervisor, or go to the HR department, let them know immediately that you were hurt. If they don’t send you right to the doctor, I would follow it up with an email or a certified letter or fax that you can track and keep copies that you did send it. But there is no requirement that you be employed for any period of time before you’re eligible for Missouri Worker’s Compensation benefits.
We do offer a free book to Missouri residents, if you want to give us a call, 1-800-345-0535, or 417-883-5886, or you can get that directly from our website, and the information will be below.
Know your Missouri Workers Compensation rights by getting my free book.
If you would like more information about the Missouri Work Comp process, please request my FREE ebook report Understanding Your Missouri Workers Compensation Case.
(Don’t worry we won’t sell or give your email to anyone)
If you or a family member was injured at work or in an on the job accident, The Krebs Law Firm LLC offers a free case evaluation if you have questions. Many people may be worried that they do not have the money to pay for a workers comp lawyer in Missouri when they were injured at work but we only handle work comp, accident cases and Social Security Cases on a contingent fee basis. In other words, there is no fee unless we are successful in getting you the benefits that you deserve. Simply call 417-883-5886 or statewide at 1-800-345-0535 for your free case evaluation today.