KY-3 recently ran an interesting report regarding Springfield Missouri averaging 120 hit and run accidents a month. The reasons are many, but I think a very common cause is the lack of insurance or a valid drivers license on the part of the driver leaving the scene. The report has good tips and information about what to do in the event of a hit and run. Get a picture of the vehicle that struck you before you do anything else. Camera phones are great for this. I would try to get a picture of the driver as well. You should contact an attorney as soon as possible after your accident.
Probably the single best thing that you can do is protect yourself with buying additional Missouri Uninsured Motorists Accident and Underinsured motorists coverage from your insurance company. The uninsured/underinsured coverages protect you, however do not assume that your insurance company will hand it over to you willingly. Uninsured motorist coverage is mandatory as a result of Missouri’s Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law . Underinsured is not mandatory, so you should expressly ask your insurance agent about it. Missouri’s current liability requirement $25,000 per person not to exceed a cap of $ 50,000 per occurrence, and $10,000 per accident for property damage. The minimum Uninsured motorist coverage as required by law is $25,000 for bodily injury per person and $ 50,000 per accident. You can buy more Uninsured/ Underinsured coverage. You will likely have to increase your liability coverage (which is a good idea anyway as Missouri Minimum Coverage is too low and has not been raised in over 25 years, but hospital costs sure have).
Under Missouri Uninsured Motorist Law and insurance policies, not only is an uninsured driver refers but to an unidentified at fault driver as well. If you have been in a hit-and-run accident and the at fault driver isn’t found, he/she would also qualify as a “phantom vehicle” and therefore an uninsured driver. If you have been in a hit-and-run accident, always call the police immediately before you leave the scene. A police report will be crucial to prove your claim. The identity of witnesses and evidence of the impact at the accident scene can also be even more critical in a hit and run accident.
If you or or a family member was injured by someone who did not have insurance or the victim of a hit and run driver in Missouri, The Krebs Law Firm LLC offers a free case evaluation if you have questions about your car, bus, truck or bike accident. Many people may be worried that they do not have the money to pay for a personal injury attorney when they were injured by a distracted driver but we only handle accident cases on a contingent fee basis. In other words, there is no fee unless we are successful in getting you the benefits that you deserve. If you would like to speak to Jason Krebs and his staff simply call (417) 883-5886 for your free case evaluation today.