The State Average Weekly Wage (SAWW) used to determine maximum workers’ compensation benefits for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022 is $1030.69. This SAWW produces the maximum weekly benefit rates for injury and illness occurring on or after July 1, 2021, as follows:
Temporary Total Disability $1,082.22
Permanent Total Disability $1,082.22
Permanent Partial Disability $566.88
The actual weekly wage rate necessary to attain the maximum benefit rate is $1,623.34 for Death, Temporary Total Disability and Permanent Total Disability and $850.32 for Permanent Partial Disability.
Also, as of July 1, 2021, the mileage allowance for travel expenses is 53 cents per mile
Under Missouri workers compensation law, there are several types of benefits that you may be entitled to receive as a result of your covered injury. Generally speaking, and as discussed on Work Comp Benefits page from your Missouri workers comp lawyer, there are several types of benefits available.
The worker compensation system in Missouri uses equations to calculate most of the various benefits that are available. These equations are based on the rules that an injured worker is limited to specific, statutorily-scheduled benefits which are usually calculated through an equation. This does not mean they are simple. There is often a lot of disputes between lawyers for injured workers and the insurance defense lawyers about ratings of injuries.
The basis for most benefits in the MO workers compensation system is the compensation rate (or “comp rate”). The compensation rate is a function of the employee’s average weekly wage.
Section 287.250 of the Missouri workers compensation statutes set out how an employee’s average weekly wage is calculated.
The injured worker’s average weekly wage is calculated by reviewing the 13 weeks prior to the date of injury (assuming you had been working for the employer for more than 13 weeks on the date of injury).
Your average weekly wage (or AWW) is calculated by taking your wages earned during the 13 weeks before the injury and add those weeks up and then divide by 13. If you hadn’t been working for the employer for a full 13 weeks, then your total wages are added up and divided by the number of weeks that you did work for that employer.
Once this calculation is complete, you have the AWW. An employee can use this figure to begin the calculation for most benefits recoverable in a Missouri worker related injury.
The next step is to determine the applicable compensation rate for the type of benefits being analyzed. As a general rule, the compensation rate is two-thirds of the employee’s average weekly wage as of the date of injury up to a certain maximum amount.
There are maximum amounts adjusted each year. They are different for permanent partial disability than from temporary total disability, permanent total disability, or death benefits.