How to ruin your Missouri Work Comp case from a Springfield Workers Compensation Injury Lawyer
What is the single thing you can do (or not do) that will absolutely ruin your case?
Don’t report your injury to your employer immediately .
Missouri law requires that you report your injury within 30 days, but it is a mistake to wait practically anytime at all.
Why? First, by not reporting your injury within 30 days you can waive your rights to compensation for your injury (including getting your medical treatment paid for). Now, if your employer sees that you are injured and directs you to the doctor of their choice. Not your choice, but their choice. You are probably okay.
We have had several very nice people recently call who waited months to report the injury. There is little I can do to help them at this point. Don’t put yourself in this position.
Second, by waiting even a day or two you give your employer a ready made defense. “You weren’t hurt at work”
What else can ruin your case so that even the best Springfield Missouri workers compensation lawyer will have a hard time helping you?
Seeking treatment outside the workers comp system or before reporting the injury. In Missouri the employer picks the doctor. Seeking treatment on your own without consulting your employer first can cause numerous problems with your case and slow down the resolution of your case substantially in some cases and/or result in you being responsible for the bills and not the employer.
Refusing light duty work. Your employer can require you to come in and stare at the wall for 8 hours if they want. Refusing or failing to show you can result in your termination.
Failing to keep doctor or physical therapy appointments. How hurt are you if you don’t go to the doctor?
Taking unemployment. This will cut off your TTD, when TTD may be more money for you (66% of your average wages).
Failing to report pain or injury during Physical therapy. If your pain gets worse, you need to report it immediately.
If you would like more information about the Missouri Work Comp process, please request my FREE ebook report Understanding Your Missouri Workers Compensation Case.
(Don’t worry I won’t sell or give your email to anyone)
If you or or a family member was injured at work or in an on the job accident, The Krebs Law Firm LLC offers a free case evaluation if you have questions.
Many people may be worried that they do not have the money to pay for a Springfield Workers Compensation Injury Lawyer or Lebanon work comp attorney when they were injured at work but we only handle work comp, accident cases and Social Security Cases on a contingent fee basis. In other words, there is no fee unless we are successful in getting you the benefits that you deserve. Simply call (417) 883-5886 or (800) 345-0535 for your free case evaluation today.